Arup is a wholly independent organisation owned in trust for the benefit of its employees and their dependants.

With no shareholders or external investors the firm is able to independently determine its own priorities and direction as a business.

Each of Arup's employees receives a share of the firm's operating profit each year.


Arup’s strategy is set by its Group Board, the board of directors of Arup Group Limited that is appointed by the firm’s Trustees. The Group Board is responsible for ensuring Arup’s long term success, financial security, unity, well-being and sustainability.

Group Board


Arup operates through five Regions – each responsible for geographic strategy and management. The five Regions and their Directors are:

  • Americas – Andy Howard 
  • Australasia – Peter Bailey 
  • East Asia – Michael Kwok
  • Europe – Paul Coughlan
  • UK, Middle East and Africa (UK-MEA) – Dervilla Mitchell

Business Networks

  • Aviation – Ian Taylor
  • Architecture - Nille Juul-Sorensen
  • Digital - Volker Buscher
  • Energy – Ian Gardner
  • Highways – Tony Marshall
  • Management Consulting – Carol Lemmens
  • Planning – Jerome Frost
  • Rail – Colin Stewart
  • Transport - Isabel Dedring
  • Water – Mark Fletcher